NL Welcomes a new Managing Editor

Hey, Nashville! My name is Erin Byers Murray and I’ve recently taken over as the managing editor here at Nashville Lifestyles. I moved down from Boston just over two months ago, bringing my husband, son, and dog down with me, in hopes of settling in a part of the country we’ve always known and loved (my husband’s family is from Knoxville).

Credit Adam DeTour

A little bit about me:
I moved around a lot when I was growing up but count both Hilton Head, SC and Houston, TX as “places I’m from”; in Boston, I worked for Boston magazine and DailyCandy.com but took a break from the media world to work on an oyster farm, and eventually wrote a book about the experience, which came out last year; I love to eat out, will happily try everything and anything, and though I’m not so well-versed in hot chicken, can tell you all you want to know (and then some) about what it takes to grow good oysters. I have a few restaurants at the top of my to-try list but am always looking for recommendations so shoot them over to me at emurray@nashvillelifestyles.com.

As for Nashville, I’m quickly finding my way and have been out and about these past few weeks attempting to get to know my new hometown. My family and I have hit up events like the Southern Artisan Cheese Festival, Live on the Green, and just last month, Music City Roots at the Loveless Barn where my husband was thrilled to see fellow Knoxville-native Scott Miller up on stage with a damn fine fiddler, Rayna Gellert (for more on the history and growth of that local institution, keep an eye out for our upcoming Music Issue, set to hit stands December 1).

I hear I’ve just barely scratched the surface but will keep you posted on my whereabouts here on the NL blog and on Twitter (@erinbmurray). We’ll be bringing the blog back to life over the next few weeks so check back often for a glimpse behind-the-scenes at all the goings on here at Nashville Lifestyles.com. In the meantime, I look forward to bringing you the best of Music City every month—and always welcome your feedback and ideas.

Cheers,
Erin

One response to “NL Welcomes a new Managing Editor

  1. Nashville is lucky to have you and the fam Miss Erin! We are so proud to be part of your Boston family and look forward to high-fiving your successes from a distance. Glad you’re settling back into Southern living- long live Sunday lunches, buttered saltines and pimento cheese. 🙂

Leave a Reply

